Arizona Edition

WMR Round Two Goes To Edwards In Mohave Valley

Drake Edwards after winning the WMR feature in the Mojave Valley. (WMR photo)

Mojave Valley, Arizona — Drake Edwards won Saturday’s WMR debut at Mojave Valley Raceway in Kevin Felkins’ No. 4 Western Midget.

A series-high 22-car 25-lap feature serves as the second round of the Western Midget Racing Championship season.

“I was in the lead pretty quickly. We were able to get a win in 2018,” Edwards said. “This track is amazing. We will definitely be back.

Edwards drove from seventh and won the first eight laps of the heat race. Racin Silva drove his No. 5 Spike to win Heat 2 and AJ Hernandez won Heat 3 in his No. 11 Triple-X Chassis of Mike McCluney.

Kyle Hattenhow in the No. 57 Triple X shared the front row with Hernandez on the third-mile dirt track in front of vocals and an excited crowd. Hernandez took the lead at the start. Brian Corso fell on Cameron’s No. 42 Beard jersey but was unhurt. Edwards slipped past Hernandez on the lead restart. A caution came out one lap later as Tyler and Chloe High got tangled at Turn 4.

Hernandez fell back and Isaiah Vazquez moved up to second. Nate Waite charged from 14th to 3rd by lap 18. Tyler High flipped in turn three due to a red flag on lap 18. Edwards outpaced Vazquez, Corey Brown and Kyle, who started 12th, his horse.


Features (25 laps): 1. 4-Drake Edwards[4]2. 7- Isaiah Vasquez[6]3. 76- Nate Waite[14]4. 29-Corey Brown[5]5. 20 Kyle Horse[12]6. 50S – Rocky Silva[16]7. 21- Brody Wake[9]8. 57- Kyle Hattenhow[1]9. 28-JR Wood[17]10. 31-Todd Horse[13]11. 3AZ-Chloe High[10]12. 81K- Ricky Kinney Jr.[18]13. 66- Darrin Horton[22]14. 01-Nathan High[11]15. 33 Tyler High[8]16. 11-AJ Hernandez[2]17. 48- Gary DeWitt[20]18. 68 gene signal[21]19. 96X- Logan Mitchell[7]20. 5S-Racin Silva[3]21. 42- Brian Corso[15]22. (DNS) 50K-Patrick Kopp

Share this post:

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Around the State

Apache County News
Cochise County News
Coconino County News
Gila County News
Graham County News
Greenlee County News
La Paz County News
Maricopa County News
Mohave County News
Navajo County News
Pima County News
Pinal County
Santa Cruz County
Yavapai County
Yuma County